Vehicle Scale Test Requirements

BUREAU OF WEIGHTS

AND MEASURES
|
PO Box 8911

Madison, WI 53708
(608) 224-4942
datcp.wi.gov

RESOURCES
|
Wis. Admin. Code ATCP 92

https://docs.legis.wisconsi
n.gov/code/admin_code/a
tcp/090/92

Rev. 12/9/2019
Page 1 of 1

Vehicle Scale Test Requirements

Operators need to have a Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service
Company test scales at least annually (within 12 months of the previous test). For
example, if you had your scale tested in June last year, you need to have it tested
by the last day of June this year.

Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service Companies are listed on our
website: Weights and Measures Service Company Device Listing (wi.gov)
Operators, or the service company on your behalf, need to send all scale test
reports to the department within 30 days of the actual test date. If you test a scale
multiple times in a year for any reason (such as when a scale is repaired and re-
tested), all test reports must be sent to the department within 30 days of each
test. We use the postmark or e-mail date to determine the 30 days.

If a test finds a scale inaccurate, the scale may not be used until a licensed service
company corrects the problem, retests the scale, and delivers a written report to
the scale owner/operator verifying the scale is accurate.

For new scales, an initial test report verifying the scale is accurate must be
submitted to the department with the license application before a license can be
issued for a new scale.

(Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 92.30(7))

Vehicle Scale Test Surcharges

Overdue annual test surcharge: An operator who fails to conduct an annual test
on a scale within 12 months of the previous test must pay a $200 surcharge.

Late test report surcharge: An operator must send all Wisconsin licensed Weights
and Measures service company scale test reports to the department within 30 days
of the test date. Operators that send a test report more than 30 days after the test
is completed must pay a $200 surcharge.

The department will not issue or renew your license if the surcharge is not paid.
Additional civil forfeiture penalties may also apply.

If you have questions, please contact us at (608) 224-4959 or
datcpweightsandmeasures@wisconsin.gov.
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