## Nominees Announced for Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin Board of Directors Election

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 30, 2024 Contact: Dan Richter, Public Information Officer, (608) 419-5352 dan.richter@wisconsin.gov

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has certified 13 nominees that are eligible for election to the Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin (DFW) Board of Directors. Eight districts are up for election beginning May 1, 2024. The following candidates, listed by district, have been certified as eligible for election:

**District 2 Nominees:** Monica Schwittay, Peshtigo; Jamie L. Porior, Oconto Falls; and Carolyn Alsteen, Coleman Florence, Forest, Langlade, Marinette, Oconto, and Vilas counties

**District 5 Nominees:** Mark Mitchell, Hudson; and Kay Zwald, Hammond Dunn and St. Croix counties

**District 8 Nominees:** James Ronald Juedes, Ringle; and Jessica Pralle-Trimner, Athens Marathon County

**District 11 Nominee:** Daniel Hinz, Picket Outagamie and Winnebago counties

**District 14 Nominee:** Annaliese Wegner, Ettrick Jackson, La Crosse, and Trempealeau counties

**District 17 Nominee:** Mitch Kappelman, Manitowoc Calumet and Manitowoc counties

**District 20 Nominees:** Jessica M. Kelley, Rock Springs; and Randy Roecker, Loganville Richland and Sauk counties

**District 23 Nominee:** Jody L. Miller, Avoca Iowa and Lafayette counties

DATCP confirmed that all certified candidates meet the eligibility criteria of being an active dairy producer or representative of an affected producer, selling milk into commercial channels, and residing within their respective districts. DATCP also certified each candidate's timely nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within the district and a notarized Affidavit of Eligibility form. For more information on this election information, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections.

DATCP will mail ballots to dairy producers who reside within the eight affected districts. Producers who have not received a ballot by May 15, 2024 should request one by contacting DATCP Market Orders staff at <u>DATCPMarketOrders@wisconsin.gov</u>. Completed ballots must be signed and mailed to DATCP Market Orders Program, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708, and postmarked on or before May 24, 2024.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit <a href="https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About\_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx">https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About\_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx</a>.

###

Find more DATCP news in our <u>newsroom</u>, on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>X</u>, and <u>Instagram</u>.